overcaption / guides / free plans

What free subtitle tools actually give you

The free plans of ten caption tools, checked against each vendor's own pricing and help pages on 6 September 2026. Limits change quietly and the pages that describe them often lag, so this table records what the vendor says today, with the source for every cell, and keeps a dated log of what changed.

Free plans, side by side checked 6 September 2026

Tool Auto captions, free planWatermarkExport limitsTranslation, free planCheapest paid plan
CapCut Pages disagree Called free on one CapCut page, listed under Pro on another. No cap published.Reported: about 5 per 30 daysNo, unless a Pro-only template or effect is usedNot stated. CapCut Online: free 4K exports "may face watermarks or bitrate limits"Reported: 1080pNot stated by the vendorMentioned as available; no cap statedPro (Standard price not published)$19.99/mo, or $179.99/yrReported: Standard $9.99/mo; the subscribe page shows a limited-time offer from $9.99/mo or $89.99/yrPriced in US dollars, also when viewed from Europe; CapCut says prices vary by region and taxes
VEED Yes, 10 minutes a monthYes, on every free export720p10-min export limit; 1 GB upload; 2 GB storageOne-time use ("try once")Creator€22/mo, or €129/yr
Kapwing 50 credits for the account's lifetime at 1 per minute: about 50 minutes in total, not monthlyYes, on every free export720pPages disagree Pricing page: 4-min exports, 2 GB uploads. FAQ (Aug 2026): 1 min, 250 MB. Free projects deleted after 3 days.Up to 25 minutes, credit-basedPro$24/mo, or $16/mo billed yearlyPriced in US dollars only; Kapwing says taxes and exchange fees are included
Descript Yes, within 60 media minutes a month, plus 100 one-time AI creditsYes; watermark-free export is a paid feature720pNot stated; 5 GB storageOn the pricing page; free status not statedHobbyist$24/mo, or $16/mo billed yearlyPriced in US dollars; Descript says checkout outside the US may show a local currency
Submagic Yes, 3 videos a monthYesNot stated by the vendorReported: 720p1 min 30 s and 200 MB per videoNot stated by the vendorStarter€19/mo, or €12/mo billed yearly
Clipchamp Yes, unlimited, one language per video; SRT download includedNo1080pNot stated by the vendorNot offeredPremium, with Microsoft 365 Personal€10/mo, or €99/yr
Canva Yes; not counted against the free AI allowanceNo, unless premium elements are used1080pMP4 up to 30 min; 5 GB storageA "Translate captions into" option exists; free status not statedPro€12/mo, or €110/yr
Captions Pages disagree Yes, one template; help says 60 to 200 lifetime credits, the pricing page says noneNoNot stated by the vendorNot stated by the vendorBasic$9.99/mo, 200 credits; yearly discount not publishedPriced in US dollars; the help center says a local currency may appear at checkout
Zubtitle Yes, 2 videos a monthYes720p20 minutes per videoNot stated by the vendorGuru$19/mo, or $190/yrPriced in US dollars only
Adobe Express Yes, unlimited videos, each up to 5 min and 1 GB; 17 languagesNot stated by the vendorReported: noneNot stated by the vendor5 min and 1 GB per captioned video; 5 GB storageNot in the free caption tool; a paid Firefly feature, up to 13 minPremium€12.19/mo incl. VAT, monthly only
Overcaption Yes, unlimited, on your own machineNo, on any plan1080p free; 4K in ProNo length or file-size limitYes, 50+ languages, on your machinePro€99/yr, or €19/mo

Plain text is what the vendor's own pricing or help page said on 6 September 2026. Gaps are not filled with guesses.

Reported marks a figure that only appears in third-party articles. It is there because people ask about it, and it is labelled so you can weigh it.

Pages disagree means the vendor's own pages contradict each other. Both are quoted in the notes.

Prices are the vendor's own figures for the cheapest paid plan, recorded in both euros and US dollars. Prices shown in euros, as the vendor displays them to European visitors. A vendor that prices in only one currency is shown in that currency with a note.

Each tool name links to its sources below. Overcaption is a desktop app for macOS and Windows and does its work on your own computer, so it has no upload, length or monthly limits to list. The pricing page has the exact free and Pro line.

Notes and sources

Every figure in the table, with the vendor page it came from and the wording found there. Vendor pages carry their own last-updated date where they show one.

CapCut 8 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor CapCut Standard vs Pro (20 August 2026) Monthly plan: $19.99 per month for individual users. Yearly plan: $179.99 per year. Auto caption generator is listed among Pro's advanced AI tools.
  • vendor Add captions with AI (25 March 2026) CapCut has a feature of free automatic subtitles. CapCut also offers automatic translation features.
  • vendor Export videos in CapCut (help) (14 January 2026) Free accounts may face watermarks or bitrate limits on 4K exports; CapCut Pro subscribers get unrestricted 4K.
  • vendor CapCut without watermark (20 August 2026) The ending card with the CapCut logo can be deleted; some templates or features may force a watermark unless you get CapCut premium.
  • vendor Pricing change (help) (25 March 2026) AI points increased from 550 to 1200. The original Pro plan has been fully upgraded; a new Standard plan is introduced. No prices and no free-plan detail on the page.
  • vendor Subscribe page, viewed from Italy (6 September 2026) Monthly from just $9.99. Yearly from just $89.99. Limited-time offer. Prices are shown in US dollars to a European visitor; whether the $9.99 is the Standard plan or a promotion is not stated. The Standard price appears on no CapCut page.
  • third party Newsweek (17 February 2026) Annual Pro went from about $77 to $179.99; features previously free, including some 1080p export options, moved behind a paywall. CapCut has not issued a formal announcement.
  • third party Reel Video Captions (12 June 2026) Free plan: 5 auto caption generations per rolling 30-day window, counted account-wide. Help-center pages say nothing about a free-tier limit.
VEED 6 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor VEED pricing (6 September 2026) Free: Auto Subtitles 10 min/mo; Video Export Length 10 minutes; Export Quality 720p; Storage 2GB; Upload File Size 1GB; Watermark-Free Exports not included; Subtitle Translation: Translate with Credits. Creator €22 per user / month, or €129 billed yearly.
  • vendor Why does my video have a watermark? (help) All projects exported while you weren't logged into an account or used a free account will have a VEED.IO watermark.
  • vendor How to translate your subtitles (help) Free and Creator: One-time use (Try once).
  • vendor How to export your project (help) Export in 720p only on Free.
  • third party videocaptions.ai on VEED's free plan (23 June 2026) Cites 30 minutes of subtitles per month, which no longer matches the pricing page.
  • third party Third-party price roundups (flowith, costbench, checkthat) (6 September 2026) Creator $20 per month, or $10 per month billed yearly. VEED's own pricing page is priced by location and shows euros to European visitors, so the dollar figure is third-party; VEED's FAQ says prices are listed in your local currency if available, otherwise in USD.
Kapwing 3 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor Kapwing pricing (6 September 2026) Free: Export videos up to 4 minutes long; 720p video quality; 2 GB upload; Unlimited exports with a watermark; Auto-subtitling (up to 50 mins); auto-translation up to 25 minutes; 3 days retention. Pro $16 per member per month billed annually, $24 billed monthly. All of our prices are listed in USD; any additional charges, such as fees, taxes, exchange rates, are included in our prices.
  • vendor Subscription FAQ (help) (24 August 2026) Free users get 50 credits lifetime. Subtitle transcription: 1 minute = 1 credit. The exporting time limit is 1 minute for users in Free Plan workspaces; 250MB upload; export only up to 720p; projects that age beyond 3 days are automatically deleted.
  • vendor Watermark policy (help) (21 May 2026) A watermark is added to all projects made by users on the free plan.
Descript 4 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor Descript pricing (6 September 2026) Free: 60 minutes (1 hr) / month of media; 100 (one-time) AI credits; 720p; 5GB; watermark-free video export not included. Hobbyist lists $16 and $24 (yearly and monthly billing).
  • vendor Plan migration notice (help) Starting November 17, 2025, all Legacy and Sunset plan subscribers will be automatically migrated to one of our new plans. Free: 60 media minutes a month, 100 one-time credits.
  • vendor Billing currency (help) Outside the United States, checkout may show prices in a local currency based on your location. Descript invoices still list plan amounts in USD. The pricing page shows dollars to a European visitor.
  • third party Trebble on Descript's September 2025 pricing (6 October 2025) Descript rolled out new pricing on September 23, 2025.
Submagic 2 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor Submagic pricing (6 September 2026) Free: 3 videos / month; 200MB & 1mn30 max; watermark. Starter $19 /member/month, or $12 /member/month billed yearly (save $84); with the currency switcher on euros: 19€ /member/month, or 12€ /member/month billed yearly (save 84€).
  • vendor Does Submagic have a free trial? (help) (29 October 2025) Upload 3 short videos; exports carry a watermark unless subscribed.
Clipchamp 6 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor Clipchamp pricing (6 September 2026) Free: Watermark-free video exports included; up to 1080p HD; AI video editing tools included. Premium features are now included with Microsoft 365 Personal and Family plans.
  • vendor Clipchamp autocaptions (blog) (12 June 2026) Autocaptions are free for all users, including free users and paid subscribers; only one language per video.
  • vendor Subtitle generator page There are no limits on generating subtitles for a video in Clipchamp.
  • vendor Does Clipchamp add a watermark? (Microsoft support) Clipchamp video editor does not add a visual, audio, or any other kind of watermark to your video editing projects or exported videos.
  • vendor Compare Microsoft 365 plans (US) Microsoft 365 Personal $9.99/month or $99.99/year; save $19.89 with a yearly plan.
  • vendor Compare Microsoft 365 plans (Italy) Microsoft 365 Personal 10,00 €/mese or 99,00 €/anno. The compare pages do not say whether VAT is included.
Canva 6 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor Canva pricing (Italy) (6 September 2026) Free: up to 200 Standard AI uses or 20 Premium AI uses; 5GB of cloud storage. Pro 12 € /mese per una persona, or 110 € /anno per una persona. No VAT statement on the page.
  • vendor Canva pricing (US) (6 September 2026) Pro US$18 /month for one person, or US$180 /year for one person. Prices exclude applicable tax.
  • vendor Generate and edit captions on videos (help) Steps to generate captions with no plan restriction shown. Optional: under Translate captions into, choose the language.
  • vendor Download as video (help) Canva Free users can download MP4 videos up to 30 minutes in length with a max resolution of 1920 * 1080px.
  • vendor Watermarks on designs (help) Premium elements will have watermarks on your design if you're a Canva Free user.
  • vendor AI access by plan (help) Canva Free: up to 20 uses of Standard AI tools or Premium AI tools, resetting on the first of each month. Captions are not listed in any AI tier. The pricing page says 200 Standard uses; the two pages differ.
Captions 2 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor Subscriptions (help) Free: 60-200 lifetime credits, one template (Eclipse), no watermarks. If you use any other features in your project, you'll be asked to upgrade. Basic (formerly Pro) costs $9.99 USD per month and comes with 200 credits. The pricing listed above is in USD; you may see prices listed in your local currency. Yearly subscriptions come with an automatic discount (amount not given).
  • vendor Captions pricing (6 September 2026) Free: captions in 100+ languages, 1 template, AI credits: None.
Zubtitle 1 source · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor Zubtitle pricing (6 September 2026) Bootstrapper (free): 2 videos / mo; Zubtitle watermark added; resolutions up to 720p; 20 min. Guru $19/mo or $190 yearly.
Adobe Express 4 sources · checked 6 September 2026
  • vendor Adobe Express pricing (Italy) (6 September 2026) Free 0,00 €; Premium 12,19 €/mese incl. IVA, nessun vincolo annuale, fatturazione mensile; 250 generative credits per month. Free is described as limited generative AI credits with no number. The US pricing URL shows the same euro price to a European visitor, so the dollar price could not be read from Adobe.
  • third party Adobe Community and third-party roundups Adobe Express Premium $9.99 per month in the US.
  • vendor Caption video: technical requirements (help) (20 November 2025) Maximum file size 1GB; maximum video length 5 minutes; 17 languages.
  • vendor Add captions to video Add captions to your videos for free. There's no limit to how many videos you can add captions to.

What changed

  • 6 September 2026
    This page First edition. Every row checked against the vendor's own pricing and help pages on this date.
  • 24 August 2026
    Kapwing The subscription FAQ, last updated on this date, says free workspaces export up to 1 minute and upload up to 250 MB. The pricing page still says 4 minutes and 2 GB.
  • 20 February 2026
    CapCut third party Pro renewals move to $19.99 a month or $179.99 a year; the previous annual price was reported around $77. Some 1080p export options reported as moved behind Pro.
  • 17 November 2025
    Descript Legacy plans migrated to the media-minutes plans: Free is 60 media minutes a month with 100 one-time AI credits. The new pricing was reported live from September 23, 2025.
  • Date unknown
    VEED third party Free auto-subtitle allowance is now 10 minutes a month; third-party pages from mid-2026 still cite 30.
  • Date unknown
    Clipchamp Premium is now sold as part of Microsoft 365 Personal and Family; the pricing page lists no standalone Premium price.

About this page

This page is maintained by the developer of Overcaption, a free subtitle app for Mac and Windows that runs on your own computer, which is why it appears in the last row with the same columns as everyone else. It is refreshed in the first week of each month.

If a cell is wrong or out of date, send the vendor page that shows the correct figure through the contact page. Corrections are logged above with their date.

Head-to-head pages: CapCut · Submagic · MacWhisper · Subtitle Edit · Aegisub

Get Overcaption

Free download for macOS and Windows. No account, no license key.

Runs on Apple Silicon Macs and Windows 10/11. Everything works offline.